jump to navigation

Demetri Martin March 4, 2009

Posted by skedaddle in Uncategorized.
trackback

So here’s the email I got on Monday:

“Informational: DEMETRI MARTIN TO PERFORM AT UT

The Texas Union Student Events Center’s Distinguished Speakers Committee and Music and Entertainment Committee will host a performance by Demetri Martin, in the Texas Union Ballroom on TUESDAY, MARCH 10, 2009 at 7PM. Admission is free and open to the UT Community with passes.

Demetri Martin is a world-renowned comedian and gifted musician with an affinity for palindromes. Martin has written for “Late Night with Conan O’Brien,” had a guest spot on “Flight of the Conchords” and made appearances on Comedy Central’s “Premium Blend” and “The Daily Show.” In February 2009, he debuted his own television series on Comedy Central, “Important Things with Demetri Martin.”

Admission to the event is FREE. A pass is required for admission but does not guarantee admission to the event. UT students, faculty and staff may obtain passes from the Texas Union Student Events Center Events and Info Desk (UNB 4.300) by presenting a valid UT ID. Pass distribution will begin on TUESDAY morning, MARCH 3, 2009 at 8:00 AM (pass distribution: weekdays 8am-5pm).

**CONTEST** DSC and MEC are holding a poster contest to win VIP tickets (guaranteed admission and special seating). Design your own Demetri Martin-related poster, and submit entries to the Events and Info Desk (UNB 4.300) by Friday, March 6, 2009 at 5PM. Include your name, EID, email address, and phone number with your entry. Winners will be contacted via email before 5PM on Monday, March 9.

This event is co-sponsored by the Texas Union Student Events Center’s Distinguished Speakers Committee (DSC) and the Music and Entertainment Committee (MEC). The majority of funding for this event is provided by designated tuition paid by all students.

For more information please call 475-6630 or visit utsec.org.”

So, naturally, I was crazy excited. They started giving out passes at 8, and the building opened at 7, so I figured I could be there by 6 and easily get a pass.
Then I went on facebook.
Everybody’s statuses were talking about it. There was an event created showing that over 1400 people were planning to attend. There was a limited amount of passes, and while it was required to have a pass to get in, having a pass did not guarantee a seat. People were planning on camping out in front of the Union overnight IN THE COLD so they could be first in line to get tickets.
Going at 6 would not suffice.
Meaning I could not convince anyone to go at 4 in the morning with me (except Cami who had an 8:00am class and Alex (my roommate’s boyfriend) who said he’d do it if I paid him $100).

I put in a load of laundry at 1:00am Monday night/Tuesday morning and then got in back to take a short nap before standing in line all by my lonesome.
I had a dream that I got in line early and got a ticket, then went to the back of the line and waited in line again for hours to get a second ticket. In the dream, I got another ticket right before they ran out and I was happy until I realized I had missed all my classes. And for some reason, it was a big deal.
Then I woke up to my alarm going off. Looking at the clock, and seeing that it was 4:00am, I thought for a minute about how tired I was and how boring it was going to be sitting in line by myself, even if I bought my iPod. I thought about how seeing Demetri Martin wouldn’t be nearly as fun if I went by myself. So I turned off my alarm and went back to sleep.
So to make a long story short, no, I didn’t get passes to see Demetri Martin. Unfortunately. Ugh.

In other news… Hmm. I’ll have to update when something exciting happens. It’s lame when I update about how I tried a new flavor of yogurt the other day or with news about my roommate’s urinary tract infection. So yeah. I won’t.

Comments»

1. frendies - March 4, 2009

Same here. 😦


Leave a Reply

